New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Eily
Advanced Member

United Kingdom
453 Posts

Posted - 18/04/2005 :  13:32:20  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I thought I sould post this as so many of our young people seem to have little knowledge of the history of the town - I obviously do not include everyone in this - but as an ex-history teacher I thought that this may be interesting!

BURMA, 1944-45 MAYU TUNNELS

There were only two roads through the Arakan and one had been designed as a railway and ran through a series of tunnels from Maungdaw to Buthidaung on the Mayu River. The Japanese were in control of this road and so could pass men and supplies quickly from one side of the Mayu hills to the other. The battalion arrived in the area on 20th March and its first objective was the capture of the two tunnels used by the Japanese for storage and gun emplacements. The enemy were subjected to three days of shelling and dive bombing and then 'B' Company began a determined attack, which involved the taking of four enemy positions camouflaged in thick bamboo, which lay one after the other on a spur commanding the approach to the feature over the first tunnel. The battle developed into fierce hand-to-hand fighting, in which 'B' Company pressed on doggedly. Sergeant Woodhouse won a DCM for capturing an enemy post single-handed when its fire decimated his section.

In two and a half hours 'B' Company drove back the enemy and established themselves over the first tunnel. The Japanese however, remained in the tunnel underneath. Meanwhile, 'D' Company attacked a spur on the other side of the tunnel in support but failed to take its objective and suffered a number of casualties. This spur was named 'Tredegar Hill', for most of the men killed came from Tredegar in Monmouthshire. Earth from this hill now stands in a casket in the chambers of the Tredegar Urban District Council.